Quiz

Where is this monologue from?

Niels Bohr and Albert Einstein. The picture wa...

Niels Bohr and Albert Einstein. The picture was taken at Ehrenfest’s home in Leiden, the occasion was most likely the 50th anniversary of Hendrik Lorentz’ doctorate (December 11, 1925). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“Germany is where I was born.
Germany is where I became what I am.
Germany is all the faces of my childhood,
all the hands that picked me up when I fell,
all the voices that encouraged me and set me on my way,
all the hearts that speak to my heart.
Germany is my widowed mother and my impossible brother.
Germany is my wife.
Germany is our children.
“I have to know what I am deciding for them!
Is it another defeat?
Another nightmare like I grew up with?
Bohr, my childhood in Munich came to an end in anarchy and civil war.
Are more children going to starve as we did?
Are they going to have to spend winter nights
as I did when I was a schoolboy,
crawling on my hands and knees through enemy lines,
creeping out into the country under the cover of darkness in the snow
 to find food for my family?
And maybe I’m choosing something worse even than defeat.
Because the bomb they’re building is to be used on us.”
Leave a Reply

